Presence of God


I was praying this morning when I caught myself asking for more of God.

Typical Christian prayer that we always think we need more of God.

Problem is we already have all of Him that we are ever going to get. He doesn’t withhold Himself from us hoping we will do something to get to the next level. There is no silver, gold or platinum level with Him.

Once I realized I was falling back into that thought, I corrected myself and asked for Him to help me open more of myself to Him. That is the key. What holds us back from being close to God? Us. More we keep off limits to Him, the less intimacy we have with Him.

Most of you have read this : Luke 11:9 So I say to you, Ask and keep on asking and it shall be given you; seek and keep on seeking and you shall find; knock and keep on knocking and the door shall be opened to you.

What about this one: Revelations 3:20 Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears and listens to and heeds My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will eat with him, and he [will eat] with Me.

When becoming Christians, we are supposed to be asking Jesus into our hearts. The latter reference is more fitting of what is going on at that time. Today, I got the image of what it is like.

When we first become Christians, we don’t really know Jesus. We just met Him. We know we need Him, but don’t know Him or really trust Him. Imagine answering a door for someone who you don’t know, let alone trust. Without the benefit of a peephole, you have to open the door slowly to see who it is. Jesus is outside saying, “Hey, it’s Jesus. Let me in.” We are slowly opening the door to Him, so that we can see and hear Him.

This is the image of the believer that I got this morning. We keep asking God to give us more of Him, and He is responding back with “I am here completely. Open the door more so you can better see my face and hear my voice.”

Next time you are desiring more of God, ask Him what area of your life He is wanting to touch. That is where He will be at, completely.

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity

2 responses to “Presence of God

  1. “Problem is,we have all of Him we are ever going to get.”I beg to differ.God never wants us to stay in the same place in Him.He always calls us to go higher and learn more of Him.There are setain levels of God He desires to show to us His children.

    • Xander

      I see your appoint and fully agree that God doesn’t want anyone to stay where they are. I feel that those people that feel that are at a goo place with God become static and begin to spirituality die.

      I don’t see levels with God though. That puts it into a performance type of relationship. Instead, ,I feel that as we release control over our own lives and stop playing God in those areas, God can then move there and begin the transformation which allows us to experience greater truth with Him.

Leave a Reply

