Powerless Demons


I thought about putting this post off until tomorrow, but I keep doing that and just fall further behind in posting.

I started a new Word study project. I do these from time to time. Usually it is some thing that someone else suggests, but this time, I have been praying and this came to mind. It coincides with another project, so hopefully it will be what I was looking for.

Anyways, I basically put some criteria down and started. This time, I am looking at every mention of demons in the New Testament. I will back track in to the Old Testament cause it is an interesting topic. To me at least.

I know there are several out there that don’t believe in angels or demons or wants all “super natural” creatures to be mystical and working for our best interest, but I don’t. It has really been interesting and enlightening. Going to write about one of them.

 Matthew 8:28 When he arrived at the other side in the region of the Gadarenes, two demon-possessed men coming from the tombs met him. They were so violent that no one could pass that way. 29 “What do you want with us, Son of God?” they shouted. “Have you come here to torture us before the appointed time?”

30 Some distance from them a large herd of pigs was feeding. 31 The demons begged Jesus, “If you drive us out, send us into the herd of pigs.”

Two key things I thought were really interesting.

1st – The demons ask if Jesus is there to torture them before the appointed time. Before Jesus goes on the cross and dies for our sins, the demons are acknowledging His power over them. Then, torture before the appointed time. An appointed time when the demons will be tortured. God has everything in place and the demons know they are going to hell. They know they will be tortured. They know they are powerless against God.

2nd – The demons beg Jesus to send them into pigs. The creatures that are going to go to hell for rebellion against God are asking Him for mercy. Is that not amazing? It blows my mind. God is so merciful that he shows mercy to demons. It shows me how much He is love. Just amazing.

I find myself asking why are we scared of demons. They have no power over us other than what we give them. We are in Christ and are joint heirs with Him, so they should be begging us for mercy. We fail to realize who we are and allow them to run right over us. No more shall we be victims.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity

Leave a Reply

