Failure to Launch into Worship


This has been bugging me.

I think it was last week, I got in on a discussion about being annoyed with worship. You can find it here:

I didn’t mind the discussion, since people are entitled to their own opinions, but it was the idea that modern worship was lacking and superficial that bothers me. Probably because I like it.

I remember singing hymns during the more “traditional” services. I keep thinking of them as if they were written using the King James Bible. Thou art holy and stuff like that. A group of people singing in a mono tone voice, so they wouldn’t be off key, praises to God. It still creeps me out.

There isn’t anything wrong with these songs, it was the way they were being sung. There was no emotion behind it. People were more worried about not sounding bad to those around them. Worried more about people then God.

The problem is the same thing is wrong with modern worship. The way it is setup, people have a better ability to express themselves, but they are usually caught up in the religion process of worship. I don’t think anyone ever taught them what worship is. Maybe they did and they couldn’t let go of the idea of losing their dignity. Whatever it is, churches all over are embracing the modern worship. They usually make the switch in order to attract the younger crowd or keep those people who are disillusioned with the lack of emotion with traditional worship programs (hymns). So all of a sudden, your church has a new song with a band and we are all raising hands when told to. Why?

Maybe this is wear we fail on both types of worship programs. Why do we do what we are doing? Why isn’t there a class that talks about worship? Where did the concept of singing and dancing before God come about? If we don’t know what we are doing, aren’t we just following the religion / rules of worship?

Davidic worship. The great introduction of what should be the modern way of worship towards God. Worship to God. Worship in the presence of God.

2 Samuel 6: 

1 David again brought together out of Israel chosen men, thirty thousand in all. 2 He and all his men set out from Baalah of Judah to bring up from there the ark of God, which is called by the Name, the name of the LORD Almighty, who is enthroned between the cherubim that are on the ark. 3 They set the ark of God on a new cart and brought it from the house of Abinadab, which was on the hill. Uzzah and Ahio, sons of Abinadab, were guiding the new cart 4 with the ark of God on it, and Ahio was walking in front of it. 5 David and the whole house of Israel were celebrating with all their might before the LORD, with songs and with harps, lyres, tambourines, sistrums and cymbals.

12 Now King David was told, “The LORD has blessed the household of Obed-Edom and everything he has, because of the ark of God.” So David went down and brought up the ark of God from the house of Obed-Edom to the City of David with rejoicing. 13 When those who were carrying the ark of the LORD had taken six steps, he sacrificed a bull and a fattened calf. 14 David, wearing a linen ephod, danced before the LORD with all his might, 15 while he and the entire house of Israel brought up the ark of the LORD with shouts and the sound of trumpets.

16 As the ark of the LORD was entering the City of David, Michal daughter of Saul watched from a window. And when she saw King David leaping and dancing before the LORD, she despised him in her heart.

20 When David returned home to bless his household, Michal daughter of Saul came out to meet him and said, “How the king of Israel has distinguished himself today, disrobing in the sight of the slave girls of his servants as any vulgar fellow would!”

21 David said to Michal, “It was before the LORD, who chose me rather than your father or anyone from his house when he appointed me ruler over the LORD’s people Israel – I will celebrate before the LORD. 22 I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes. But by these slave girls you spoke of, I will be held in honor.”

 Even the wild worshippers of today pale in comparison to what David did. And it wasn’t just David. It was him and the entire house of Israel. That is a huge worship service. Singing, dancing, playing instruments, shouting, and leaping. No one was worried about how they looked or who might think less of them. It was true worship to God. A celebration of being in His presence. David even set up 24 hour worshippers in the tabernacle. He knew how important worship was.

I find it interesting that Lucifer was supposed to have been the worship leader in heaven before he was jealous of the praise that God got.

Why are we able to release our self image when we listen to modern music, but we must be stoic when it comes to worship music?

There will always be controversy surrounding worship as people are able to release themselves from the religion and just be with God. This is why I like the modern worship format. I am able to sing along or make up my own song if I feel like it. I can sing as loud as I want to since the music is loud and I don’t have to even worry about my voice carrying over the masses. I sing loud enough so I can hear myself sing. I don’t want to blend in with others. I am praising my God. I will raise my hands when I want to and for as long as I want to because I am worshipping my God. I will dance and leap if I am in the front of the house or the back because I am worshipping my God. I will laugh and I will cry as I feel His presence on me because I am worshipping my God.

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity

2 responses to “Failure to Launch into Worship

  1. I read your “about” page just now and my heart is breaking. You are a survivor. You seem so rad. I may be able to identify with you on a few things. It helps me so much to see people who have been through traumatic things and can forge ahead and find beauty and be willing to keep trying. THANK YOU.
    stephy

    • Xander

      Thank you.

      The lie we buy into is that we are alone with what we have been through. We feel isolated because we don’t know people who have gone through this and we worry about the reactions from people around us. I don’t want anyone to feel alone, so I voice my journey through life; the parts I like and those I really could have done without.

      I feel honored now that I can tell my story and share my thoughts in a way that glorifies God. My hope is to always show how His love and healing changed me and that it will give hope to others.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

