Glory of the Lord


I woke up again with part of the song “Let it Rise” playing in my mind.  A better way of looking at it is it was playing in my spirit.  From time to time, this happens to me.  A praise song is just repeating in me.  It gives me comfort, but I am starting to wonder if there isn’t more to it.  What if God is trying to tell me something?  This has happened for 3 days, so I don’t think it is just subconscious thinking.

These are the lyrics I am hearing:

Let the glory of the Lord, rise among us,
Let the glory of the Lord, rise among us,
Let the praises of the King, rise among us,
Let it rise.

What is the glory of the Lord?

Exodus 33: 18 Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”

19 And the LORD said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion. 20 But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”

21 Then the LORD said, “There is a place near me where you may stand on a rock. 22 When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by. 23 Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back; but my face must not be seen.”

2 Chronicles 5: 3 The trumpeters and singers joined in unison, as with one voice, to give praise and thanks to the LORD. Accompanied by trumpets, cymbals and other instruments, they raised their voices in praise to the LORD and sang:
“He is good;
his love endures forever.”
Then the temple of the LORD was filled with a cloud, 14 and the priests could not perform their service because of the cloud, for the glory of the LORD filled the temple of God.

Isaiah 40: 5 And the glory of the LORD will be revealed,
and all mankind together will see it.
For the mouth of the LORD has spoken.”

Ezekiel 9:  Now the glory of the God of Israel went up from above the cherubim, where it had been, and moved to the threshold of the temple. Then the LORD called to the man clothed in linen who had the writing kit at his side 4 and said to him, “Go throughout the city of Jerusalem and put a mark on the foreheads of those who grieve and lament over all the detestable things that are done in it.”

So the glory of the Lord is used biblically to represent God’s presence.  When God shows up, it is His glory.

So I seem to be asking for His presence / glory to show up in my life.  I do that daily, but I feel like this is different.  It feels more significant this time.  I can’t really explain it, but this is one of those things you just have to work out.  I will let you know what happens.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity

Leave a Reply

