The Sacred Meal by Nora Gallagher


Holy Communion, the Lord’s Supper, Blessed Sacrament, and the Eucharist – these names conjure up images of that final, sacred meal Jesus shared with His disciples.  Nora Gallagher writes about this sacred meal and the impact it has had in her life.  From personal revelation to public service, Nora reflects on how the symbolic nature of this sacred meal has transformed areas of her life in the way she relates to and serves those people around her.

At first, I didn’t like this book.  I went in hoping to find some deeper or hidden spiritual connection with this ritual that is performed by most Christians around the world.  In my church, I help prepare and distribute the meal to the congregation.  I wanted to see if there was more to the process that I was missing. 

This book is primarily about the author’s self reflections about the events in her life.  It is more than that though.  The self reflection begins to paint a picture of the servant that Jesus was.  Through her own growth and self sacrifice in her experiences, you can begin to mentally see more of Jesus as He is giving of Himself to those He loves. 

I didn’t obtain any new knowledge about this sacred meal, but I did change my perspective on what I am a part of.  This book is a good read for those that want to see the human side of this most sacred of meals.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

