Be Good for Goodness Sake


I am not going to join the war on Christmas cause. I do not support the let’s keep Christ in Christmas people either. I want to start my own, Let’s stop trying to put Christ into Christmas or stopping trying to Christianize a pagan holiday, but those wont be supported by many people.

I saw this cute little image that the American Humanism group put out:

Humanism is a progressive philosophy of life that, without theism and other supernatural beliefs, affirms our ability and responsibility to lead ethical lives of personal fulfillment that aspire to the greater good of humanity.

I know there are multiple types of humanism, but very few actually support the existence of a higher power. The higher power thought doesn’t fit with reason and science. Humanism, basically, is about people becoming the best they can be and helping others in the process. Like I said before, I support that idea.

I agree with what they are pushing. People should try and be better to others. I agree with it because it is what God said to do. When you take God out of the picture though, I start to wonder why do you want to be good? I had this problem before I was saved, but I was angry and hurt and really didn’t care about helping people

Why do they do it though?

Any religious based person does it because to some degree, it is part of their religion. Typically they stick with helping others as a way to spread their message / beliefs. Usually, the beliefs involve them being good and being rewarded with it in an afterlife. So, why try and be good if there is no eternal reward for it?

Maybe that is the point that Christians are missing. Why should we do good just because we are expecting an eternal reward. Why not just be good because we want to. I know it wont work for everyone, but if helping people makes us feel good, why not help people for that reason alone? If we get a reward for doing good, so much the better, but it shouldn’t be the motivating factor of why we do what we do. Thanks humanist for helping to show the way.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Relationships

Leave a Reply

