Our Actions Don’t Define Us


Last month I wrote about the sinner saved by grace line that we are taught to believe. I had a discussion on it the other day and I got a new insight on the argument.

If I do a righteous act, that doesn’t make me righteous. If I do 10,000 righteous acts, I am still not righteous. I can only be made righteous by God. The action doesn’t define who I am, God does.

Western / Greek thought says that if I sin, then I am a sinner. This is the action defining who I am, not God. God says that I am a new creation. I am born again and I am one of the saints. These don’t change if I choose to identify myself as a sinner. If I get plastic surgery to change my facial features and pigmentation, I can not make myself Asian. If I say I am a sinner because I sin, God still loves me.

The only thing that has changed is my perception of who I am and my attitude towards that. How much harder is it to overcome sin areas in our life if we think we are a sinner and thus the battle can never be won?

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity

One response to “Our Actions Don’t Define Us

  1. I really liked your last line, “How much harder is it to overcome sin areas in our life if we think we are a sinner and thus the battle can never be won?”. For whatever reason guilt has always been a big problem with me, I tend to want to latch on to it. And the more I worried about my guilt and sinning, guess what, the more I did what it was I was feeling guilty over. A breakthrough came for me when I started thinking about Jesus saying we should forgive people 70 times 7. Something finally clicked- if He wants me to forgive people that much, He’ll obviously do the same for me. The more I concentrate on the fact that God loves me even when I screw up and don’t keep kicking myself the less I do the things I shouldn’t. Guilt doesn’t change me. Love does.

Leave a Reply

