Rejoice, for the Sabbath is for Man


I am studying the Old Testament this semester, which is good because of I felt really drawn to it for awhile now. I feel like my lack of understanding of God’s interaction with man prior to the incarnate Jesus, hinders my understanding of Him and slows my growth. Plus, it is rather interesting.

So, we are working in Genesis. I have been trying to read this book for awhile and understanding it can be challenging at times. The neat thing about it, is I am slowing loosing my Greek/linear thought process as I get more into the text. A great resource to help understand the language can be found at http://www.e-sword.net/ . Hebrew thought doesn’t always translate into English very well.

I have already written about the seven days of God here. It really changes my understanding of the Sabbath when I see that God’s last day, was set aside for God to spend time with man.

 Mark 2:27 And He said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, and not man for the Sabbath. 28 Therefore the Son of Man is also Lord of the Sabbath.”

Jumping forward a bit from Genesis

Exodus 20:
8 Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.
9 Six days shalt thou labour, and do all thy work:
10 But the seventh day is the sabbath of the LORD thy God: in it thou shalt not do any work, thou, nor thy son, nor thy daughter, thy manservant, nor thy maidservant, nor thy cattle, nor thy stranger that is within thy gates:
11 For in six days the LORD made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that in them is, and rested the seventh day: wherefore the LORD blessed the sabbath day, and hallowed it.

In Exodus, we get that our 7 days week should pattern the 7 days of God and that the last day of the week should be set aside for man to spend time with God. I don’t feel like this is what Jesus was saying though. One clue is the capitalization or emphasis on Sabbath by Jesus. The Jews had become so focused on keeping that day “holy” that they were missing the bigger picture. God created the Sabbath or His seventh day to spend time with man not for man to have a “holy” day.

When we look at God remaining in that seventh day, we have a God that is focusing on us every minute of every day, not just once a week when man chooses to go and worship Him. Pretty cool.

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity

2 responses to “Rejoice, for the Sabbath is for Man

  1. Wow! I love how you brought out about God remaining in the seventh day! I mean, I guess I’ve always known that but something just leaped on the inside of me when I read that in this context! Beautiful!

    He says in Hebrews, “Labor to enter into my rest.” That brings a whole new meaning to that for me!

    • As I have been rediscovering the Old Testament, I am seeing God in a more intimate and personal light. He is always there asking for the relationship and it is the people pushing Him away to pursue their own desires. Not much has changed =D

      Thank you for the comment. Hope you stop by again.

Leave a Reply

