Obtaining Provision Continued


I am still on provision. The concept of provision is rather interesting.

The third meaning of the word is ” measure taken beforehand to deal with a need or contingency” That is hard to grasp that God was taken care of all of my needs beforehand. Not really taken care of my needs, but has made preparation for my needs before I realize them.

Thinking on a basic level, if I have a headache, God has prepared something to deal with my need. I don’t automatically get it unless I access it. I don’t know what the has been prepared for, so if I ask it might not be what I am expecting, but the measure is still there waiting for me to access it. Would I access it for a headache, probably not. We have medicine laying around for things like that. That doesn’t mean that God wasn’t prepared for it. I made the choice not to access it.

God is prepared for all of my needs, from the smallest to the largest. That is what I am trying to reckon to myself.

So why don’t I access it more? I guess I have become so used to dealing with the issues that I take that burden and responsibility onto myself by default. That is going to be a lot of years worth of habits to break. That is why I feel like He has me starting on the small things.

Dependency is built on the small things. As I access the preparing for the small things, I see that those needs are met. This builds up faith but also the realization that I can depend on those needs being met. Trusting that God will meet my bigger needs because He was faithful to meet my prior needs. It is a cycle. As I grow to depend on the small things being met, I am more capable to step out and trust Him to meet the bigger needs. As those needs are met, my dependency grows.

Often I see people’s faith shaken because God failed to meet their needs. These are major needs that they go to God for. There is no real dependence on God though, so not much of a foundation of trusting God to deliver those provisions. They hope for it, and want to see it, but don’t really trust God to get it. Is the lack of faith what keeps it from being delivered? I don’t know, but God operates in faith among His children. Without that daily dependence on the small things, the foundation needed to trust for the big things is just not there. The provision is there, but it doesn’t always get accessed.

3 Comments

Filed under Christianity

3 responses to “Obtaining Provision Continued

  1. “Often I see people’s faith shaken because God failed to meet their needs. These are major needs that they go to God for. There is no real dependence on God though, so not much of a foundation of trusting God to deliver those provisions. They hope for it, and want to see it, but don’t really trust God to get it. Is the lack of faith what keeps it from being delivered?”

    I did the same thing and found in my case that God withholding my needs for a time was His way of cultivating my dependence on Him. Perhaps it isn’t due to a lack of faith, but a way of building faith.

    • The what and timing of the provision is totally up to God, so I don’t see that delayed provision is a lack of faith. I think our faith might be shaken if we are waiting for the provision to appear and it either comes and we don’t realize it or we get frustrated because we are tired of waiting. In your case, faith was strengthen because you persevered.

      I think about those who have their heart and mind set on a certain solution and that is not what God has in store. The lose faith because God didn’t do what they wanted. I feel like this will be another post.

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. Thank you for this.., atleast I found it as an newsworthy read

Leave a Reply

