Spreading the Gospel


The other day, I was reading a post from an atheist when she was some what assaulted by a Christian who wanted to proclaim the superiority of the Christian life based on the Bible.

This actually happens a lot. I understand the motivation of the Christian, but the method is all wrong. When you start telling a person about how their life is lacking because they don’t have God and don’t follow the Bible, the message is lost. You have no idea how their life is going. They might be quite happy with it just the way it is. How do you tell someone they need to submit to the Bible when they don’t acknowledge the same God as we do? What ends up happening is the Christian will become discouraged and the targeted person will be put off from the message in the future.

 Pro 3:3-4 Let not mercy and truth forsake you; Bind them around your neck, Write them on the tablet of your heart, 4 And so find favor and high esteem In the sight of God and man.

We want to share the truth of the God. We want to share the truth about salvation. We need to lead first with mercy though. Mercy always proceeds truth in the kingdom.

How do you show the people mercy in order to share the gospel? Pray for people. Sacrifice for people. When you see someone in need, reach out to them. Jesus was out among the hurting. Now, Jesus would teach and answer questions, but He wasn’t walking up to people to tell them about who He was. He was going out and healing though.

Aren’t we called to do the same?

Mat 25:34-36 Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. (35) For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, (36) I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’

How many of us don’t even do one of these things? I know it is uncomfortable to step out from our comfort zone, but that is what we are called to do. We have to start reaching out to those who are hurting and tend to the hurts. God will heal their hurts and they will be opened up to Him.

Lead first with mercy and let the truth sustain and direct you. God will not steer you in the wrong direction.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity

Leave a Reply

