How do I Grow in Jesus?


Colossians 1:10 so that you might live in a manner worthy of the Lord and be fully pleasing to him as you bear fruit in every good work and grow in the full knowledge of God.

1 Peter 2:2 Like newborn babies, thirst for the pure milk of the word so that by it you may grow in your salvation.

2 Peter 3:18 Instead, continue to grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Glory belongs to him both now and on that eternal day! Amen.

I got an image of a building block. The block represents each one of us. The block was then put into an empty box. The box represents Jesus. We are to grow in Christ to become the full sized block needed for the Church. I am now starting to see the growing process in a broader sense.

If I read more and prayed more, I would become firmer in my faith and understanding of God. I don’t think I ever fully understood the process of how that makes me grow. It wasn’t a natural process like maturing from a child. By default, if you get your nourishment as a child, you will grow. No real option of not growing unless you have already reached the maximum amount you were designed to grow. Growing in God is not like that though.

I might have been the only one who thought this, but I used to think that I was saved and now I would follow after God and He would make me into a better person. He would take away my short comings that were holding me back and I would grow and become more mature. That isn’t the case though.

God did everything in Jesus. Did is past tense. There is nothing else to do, because it has all been done.

Matthew 5:48 So be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect.”

When we accept Jesus as Lord and Savior, we are baptized into Jesus by the Holy Spirit. You don’t have to wait to be dunked in the tank, it happens right away. So I am in Jesus, now what? Be perfect or be complete.

If I am in Jesus and all has been done in Jesus, then all has been done in me as well. I might not realize it, but it has been done. That is the process of growing up. My brain still remembers the old limitations before Christ, but in Christ I no longer have those limitations.

Romans 12:2 Do not be conformed to this world, but continually be transformed by the renewing of your minds so that you may be able to determine what God’s will is-what is proper, pleasing, and perfect.

Corinthians 10:4-5 For the weapons of our warfare are not those of the flesh. Instead, they have the power of God to demolish fortresses. We tear down arguments (5) and every proud obstacle that is raised against the knowledge of God, taking every thought captive in order to obey Christ.

I no longer need to pray for patience or peace, because I already have them as Jesus has them. I need to realize how to walk in them, but I am not waiting for them to appear or be developed.

We read and pray not so that we will be made to be more like Christ, but to realize that we have already been made to be like Christ. I am slow to realize that sometimes.

3 Comments

Filed under Christianity

3 responses to “How do I Grow in Jesus?

  1. If you want to know whether or not you are growing in Christ, read James 2:12-20. And then ask yourself it you resemble it…does your character show it? If the answer is no, (and only you and God know the answer to that question) then you merely have more learning/growing to do. You cannot expect a relationship with Jesus to spring forth from nothingness simply because you said the “magical” words.

    Example: If I marry my wife and say “I do” but then never spend time with her; never seek to please her; never remember her birthday or care about her feelings, am I really married to her. ONLY in a LEGALISTIC way am I married to her…but in reality…there is no marriage (relationship) at all. Real realtionships take work, so brother, I encourage you to seek Christ daily. Seek to know Him personally.

    He does “knock at the door” of our hearts…wanting in…not wanting to stand outside. He is not a box that you come into…you are a “box” that He wants to inhabit. The Jews understood the meaning of “take my yoke upon you…” A rebellious (we are all rebellious sinners) oxen was yoked to a submitted good oxen in order to teach the rebellious oxen how to be a good one. Are you willing to be yoked together with Jesus in order to become (a good oxen) like Him? Will you submit your will?

  2. Mates To have a close companion to walk through life with and grow together in Jesus would be my dream. Bible

  3. Christ works in us and on us in ways that we aren’t even aware of sometimes.

Leave a Reply

