New Apostolically Reformation


I have seen several posts on different blogs discussing the evils associated with the new apostolic reformation, referred to as NAR. I would say it is safe to say it is evil, since the words used are heresy and blaspheming. Each post always points to another web site where someone gives you their opinion as to what it is and why it is wrong. I automatically distrust any position without researching it myself. I will listen to the arguments, but like to look at it myself. When you Google / Bing this movement, the only thing that comes up is page after page of links where this movement is being attacked. I know people don’t like it, but I still don’t see what it is about.

For information from the source as to what they are about, you have to go to the International Coalition of Apostles.

One link against this movement sent me to Renew America. There you can read an article that tells how bad they are and gives links to other websites for more information as to why they are wrong. Why cant all of this information be made available in one article. The downside is that there are no examples of this evil but just suggestion and inuendo againt the movement. Not very bibical.

Another site gave an audio discussion between Mike Oppenheimer and the host Jan which discussed the topic. You can find it here. Here are the reasons why they said it was wrong. One thing I found interesting was a comment that Mike made that several apostles out there were making claims and might not have been part of the ICA, but it didn’t matter since they used the same language. I took that as ICA might be valid, but it doesn’t matter since others used the same verbiage and terminology so they were all guilty. In my mind, that is like saying Christianity is wrong since Mormonism uses the God and Jesus in it’s beliefs. Anyways, here are the points that they listed and my comments to them.

1. No prophets or apostles.

I have seen this one a lot. It ties into cessation of the gifts. The reasoning as to why there are no modern day Apostles, is that the qualifications to be an Apostle was that the person had to have been with Jesus from the beginning, which was the baptism by John, until the resurrection. These criteria were not given by Jesus or as a word from God, but rather it was decided by the group. The problem with this stance is that Paul can not be an Apostle.

1Co 14:37 If anyone thinks he is a prophet or a spiritual person, he must acknowledge that what I am writing to you is the Lord’s command.

Wow, there were prophets that Paul was addressing. When did the prophet

The ICA stance is that apostle and prophet are still valid callings as per Ephesians 4

Eph 4:11-13 And it is he who gifted some to be apostles, others to be prophets, others to be evangelists, and still others to be pastors and teachers, (12) to perfect the saints, to do the work of ministry, and to build up the body of Christ (13) until all of us are united in the faith and in the full knowledge of God’s Son, and until we attain mature adulthood and the full standard of development in Christ.

We can see why people are called into the different level of ministries and when it is supposed to end. Are we all united in faith and in the full knowledge of Jesus? How about we have all attained mature adulthood and the full standard of development in Christ? No. Unless the Bible is a liar, then these areas should still be around.

2. We can take down demonic territorial spirits

I guess we are supposed to allow demonic forces to control our lives. I am not sure why people would be opposed to opposing demonic forces, but if they want to live under the authority of the enemy, then that is their right. Personally, I feel like the enemy was defeated and no longer has authority over me.

3. We will bring in Jesus kingdom by force

Without seeing something for the ICA as to what they mean, I can not say I agree nor disagree with them on this. My initial opinion is that the stance is Jesus is on the throne and reigning over His kingdom. I am in Jesus so I am in the kingdom of God. Where ever I go, the kingdom is with me. By that rationale, I should operate in the kingdom of God always. I see a lot of people who don’t understand this and would rather sit back and hope the Jesus will help them. My thought is Jesus already helped me and I need to act accordingly. This is not to say that Jesus is not coming back to fully establish His kingdom. I am saying that those who are saved are already in the kingdom even though the kingdom is not fully recogonized in the world.

4. Want to Gain control of media

How horrible. I can not believe Christians would ever want to be in control of the media and the message that is sent out. How dare we stop the wicked messages from being sent out across the world.

5. Dominions or perfect the world

I don’t even have a clue as to what is meant by this. In Jesus, I have authority in the world, so I can take dominion over the things in the world. I am guessing this is what they are talking about.

6. Set up global apostles who are self appointed

I think one of the largest fears is that the apostles want to set themselves over Christians and make their own version of the kingdom of God. I can see why this would give people concern about the intentions of the ICA.

According to Wagner:

Apostolic Spheres

There is no such thing as an apostle to the whole church. God assigns to each apostle certain spheres in which they exercise authority. Paul makes this clear in 2 Corinthians 10:13-16. There he says, “We, however, will not boast beyond measure, but within the limits of the sphere which God appointed us” (2 Cor. 10:13). Apostolic spheres can be ecclesiastical, functional, territorial (geographic), cultural, or workplace.

They are not wanting to control the whole church. Nothing to fear then.

I still don’t have a complete view as to what the NAR is about, but I want people to look at it for themselves instead of just jumping on the band wagon that is denouncing them. If they are found to conflict the word of God, then by all means, point out exactly what it is and the proof so people can see it for themselves. Don’t just draw conclusions and present it as fact.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity

Leave a Reply

