Progressive Christianity and Universal Salvation


I was reading about Progressive Christianity and I am stuck on one of the 8 points:

2. Recognize the faithfulness of other people who have other names for the way to God’s realm, and acknowledge that their ways are true for them, as our ways are true for us.
Basically, there is no wrong way to God.

That is an interesting concept and one I understand. I don’t agree with it, but I understand the desire people have for it. No one wants anyone to go to hell. For anyone to wish that on someone has to be driven out of anger and not love. The problem that I have is that Jesus said He is the ONLY way to God. Luckily the progressive Christians have a solution for this snag:

It is true that the author of John’s gospel does place the following words in Jesus’ mouth: “I am the way, and the truth and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me” (John 14:6) It is important to remember, however, that these words were written for a religious sect that was a persecuted minority cult, struggling for survival in the first century.

That clears it up. We can’t trust what is in the Bible because we don’t understand it in the context in which it was written.

Although the Bible does not discuss pluralism in either sense of the word, many passages suggest that the writers and editors of scripture accepted the reality of the condition.  For example, the verse known as the first of the Ten Commandments reads:

I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, out of the house of slavery; you shall have no other Gods before me.  (Exodus 20:2-3)

Each of the tribes among whom the people of Israel lived had its own god, and the Lord’s people were admonished to be loyal to their own God.  Over the centuries, however, the idea emerged that the Lord they worshiped was not simply the God of their tribe, but the ruler of the universe who embraced even the people who did not know the Lord by name.  So it was that a prophet could call Cyrus, King of Persia, the Lord’s messiah (Isaiah 45:1).  At the same time, Jews thought of themselves as being in a special relationship with the universal God.  They were the “chosen people”.

I don’t want to seem like I am mocking their beliefs, but from where I am coming from they seem to be in disagreement with themselves. That could be from my current religious view point. This is my understanding; the Bible as they know it was written about many gods and not just one God. So following the way of any god is ok, since each way actually points to the one true God. I think I understood the correctly. Correct me if I am wrong, please.

If I am understanding, I coming to the point of conflict because the collective gods in the Bible give the ten commandments that say not to kill, but the god Molech demanded child sacrifice. So the one true god doesn’t care if you kill or not, as long as you follow your beliefs and local traditions. I don’t see how that can ever work out as the one true god as it is suggested is not opposed to anything as long as the group of people you are a part of are not offended.

I guess I will keep looking trying to understand. The way it is right now, it is a group of people who hold to the idea of the Bible but don’t want to offend anyone with what it says.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, Religion

Leave a Reply

