Celebrating the Death of Evil


 I have rewritten this thing many times already. Basically, I am not sure how a Christian should respond to the news that Osama bin Laden has been killed.

I can understand those who want to celebrate a triumph over evil. I can understand how those who have lost loved ones in the 9/11 attacks and in the ensuing pursuit of those who supported them would want some vengeance. I can fully understand how people want justice against those who have done wrong. I do not want to deny anyone of those feelings. Despite that, I can not personally justify the celebrations that have followed the announcement.

Other than the Republican Jesus that many tout, I can not envision Jesus celebrating the death of any person, even one who has commits evil acts. If Jesus would not be cheering, why would any Christian be partaking of the celebration? This is where I am stuck.

Why would I be happy that anyone, especially one who would be considered unsaved, would be killed? Shouldn’t their be some grieving at the loss of life. I know he is accountable for his actions, but why would I not be saddened at the loss of life? I guess we all have to approach the news in whatever way we think God would want us to.

Tell them that as surely as I am the living LORD God, I don’t like to see wicked people die. I enjoy seeing them turn from their sins and live. So if the Israelites want to live, they must stop sinning and turn back to me. (Eze 33:11)

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, Misc, Politics, Religion

Leave a Reply

