Righteous Anger of God


And he looked around at them with anger, grieved at their hardness of heart, and said to the man, “Stretch out your hand.” He stretched it out, and his hand was restored. (ESV – Mar 3:5)

Jesus was angry as he looked around at the people. Yet he felt sorry for them because they were so stubborn. Then he told the man, “Stretch out your hand.” He did, and his bad hand was healed. (CEV – Mar 3:5)

I am not sure why I never noticed this verse before.

Often I hear that Jesus was all about love. Nothing but love from JC and anything but love is not very Christian like. We do know that Jesus was angry at the temple when he turned over the tables of the money changers. But that was because the “church” was using the people and treating them unfairly.

But here is another instance of the anger of Jesus.

Now to set the stage, the “church” leaders did not want Jesus to break the traditions and heal a man on the Sabbath, but Jesus wanted to do what was right. I think I am starting to sound like the people at the Christian Left.

I get this same type of sensation. I feel angry when those in the church preach tradition and liturgy as the only way to worship God. How short sighted of them I think. I really don’t mind until I am told I am following a process that is blasphemous. I also feel the anger when people turn from the Bible and decide which aspects of it they choose to follow. Both acts come from a place of stubbornness or hardness of heart. The idea that their way is the only way. That the scriptures no longer

So why is my idea of what the right way is not part of the stubbornness of the heart as I claim theirs is? Because I know I am right of course. LOL

Really though, I do not know how to justify it in a way that proves I am always right and others are wrong. Religion will always have people who claim their way is right and others are wrong or simply misguided. This is true of all religions. Christianity often displays this struggle over a great number of things, so this argument can and will always be used that what someone does or believes in is supported by scripture or tradition.

How do we know then?

We don’t. That is why people will make arguments for their points of views and others will either agree or disagree with them. I say to pray about it and ask God to reveal, but that gets misused as well. In the end, all you can really do is pray and see that what you believe agrees with scripture. When you encounter those you disagree with, if it is something that can not be considered a secondary item, then best to avoid them. Otherwise your righteous anger will transform into a personal anger and then your sinning.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Christianity, Religion

Leave a Reply

