Encountering God at a Funeral


When my grandmother passed away earlier this year, all of the male grandchildren and great grandchildren were asked to be pallbearers.  This was my first time as a pallbearer so I was not sure what to expect.  What if the casket is too heavy or if it drops.  I think these are normal thoughts that go through a person’s mind, but maybe not.

Well, all of the pallbearers were sitting together and you could see various stages of emotions cross their faces.  I often wonder what other people are thinking.  I could blindly assume we all think the same way, but that is ignorant and being that I am not very close to that side of my family, I am never really sure what they think.

The service was really nice.  There had been tension between the children on how everything should go, so there ended up being two pastors who spoke.  The first one was my father’s pastor, whom I knew, and the other one was the pastor at the church where my grandmother attended.  I say it like that as most of my family is Baptist, but they are going through a common stage where they are looking for something “more” spiritually.

I liked the Baptist pastor a lot.  I have never met the man before, but he was passionate and had a connection to God.  It was during his speech that I heard him talk about my grandmother’s faith.  She was devoted to church, but she had prayed everyday for her family.  I knew she had prayed, but no clue about the extent of her prayer life.  While I was sitting there, I was pulled out of my thoughts when I heard the young pastor talk about how she prayed for family and specifically one of them who never believed in God but had since turned their life over and was now saved.

That hit home with me as that is my story, but I had never talked to the pastor before so I figured he was talking about my uncle.  It was odd to hear that, but it reaffirmed that God works through prayer.

After the funeral, family and friends went to the local community center and ate and had fellowship with each other.  I questioned to my dad about what was said and he did not recall hearing that.  When I was able to speak to the young pastor about that portion of his sermon, he denied having said anything like that.

I was positive that I heard that being said, but with the pastor denying saying it, I knew it was the work of the Holy Spirit.    What I heard was meant for me and spoken by God.  Now it came through the voice of the pastor, at least as far I could tell, but I know God was letting me know that He had been present in my life since the beginning and that others have been praying for salvation since birth.

The feeling I got from that was and is still overwhelming.

7 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Religion

7 responses to “Encountering God at a Funeral

  1. Isn’t that so great? I love God encounters like that. He pursues your heart until you finally “get it.” Even when you stray…He sends out a message to bring you back home again. Love this!!

  2. I was positive that I heard that being said, but with the pastor denying saying it, I knew it was the work of the Holy Spirit. What I heard was meant for me and spoken by God.

    My brother told me in no uncertain terms that he had felt the presence of the Holy Spirit sweep his body with golden light and immediately knew he had been cured of his pancreatic cancer. That was last March. He died of pancreatic cancer last September.

    So much for this kind of knowing.

    What we know and what we believe are not equivalent. Our beliefs fool us all the time because we don’t bother to remember this fact.

    • My level of proof was met, so whether you think i believe instead of know is irrelevant. i understand that it is not enough proof for you, but like i said, the message was meant for me.

      i am sorry for the loss of your brother though.

      • “And they heard them speak in their own language.” It seems like you had a sort of Pentecost experience. I am sure that God gets through to us, showing He is here with us by many means; in whatever means we, as individuals, can understand. Amen! May God draw even closer to you, and you to Him.

    • I have a post on my blog that might help you. It is about healing and my current beliefs about it. Also, your brother could have felt the Holy Spirit say that he had been cured, as a prophecy of what was to come. He would be cured of it, when his body of corruption passed away. If you’d like, listen to the YouTube song also. This may help. Sorry for your heartache in missing your brother. The post is called, “Healing; Physical or Spiritual or both?” (It was writtena about 3 days ago.)

      • My point here was to not elicit sympathy (thank you, anyway) but to remind us not to confuse what we think we know with what we believe we know. Empowering the latter is how magicians, priests, loan sharks, and con artists make their living, resting fully on our susceptibility to credulity and gullibility based on our willingness to believe rather than know.

      • You do have a point well taken. I myself as I’ve grown in Christ have been able to hear Him more and more clearly. As young babes, we do get confused, but thank goodness, even in our confusion, if we are His, He either shows our deception to us, or makes good out of it.

Leave a Reply

